Friday, October 22, 2010

Big B Receives standing ovation at National Film Awards funtion

Big B Receives standing ovation at National Film Awards funtion

A standing ovation and thundrous applause greeted Amitabh Bachchan as he received the National Award for Best Actor for Paa from President Pratibha Patil.

The film also received the prize for Best Hindi film, Best Supporting Actress for Arundhati Nag and Best Make Up. Ananya Chatterjee took home the Best Actress trophy for Bengali film Abhonom which also won Rituparno Ghosh the Best Director prize.

3 Idiots was awarded the most Popular Film and Delhi 6 bagged trophy for National Integeration.

Filmmaker D Rama Naidu was bestowed the Dada Saheb Phalke Award for his contribution to Indian cinema.

Kutty Srank, with Mammootty in the lead, also won awards for best cinematography, best screenplay, best costume and a special jury recognition which it shared with Bollywood hit Kaminey and Malayalam film Kerala Varma Pazhassi Raja.

While producer Reliance Big Picture and director Shaji N Karun of Kutty Srank received Swarna Kamal and Rs 2.5 lakh each, the producer and director of 3 Idiots -- Vidhu Vinod Chopra and Raj Kumar Hirani got Swarna Kamal and Rs two lakh each.

Bachchan got a standing ovation when he received the Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000 from the President. His wife Jaya, son Abhishek Bachchan and daughter-in-law Aishwarya Rai were present at the function when the actor received his fourth national award.

He had earlier won national awards for his performances in Black (2005, best actor), Agneepath (1990, best actor) and Saat Hindustani (1969, best newcomer).

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra's Delhi 6, shot in the bylanes of Old Delhi, bagged the Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on national integration while Shyam Benegal's Well Done Abba was chosen as the best movie on social issues.

R Balki's Paa also got the best Hindi film, besides winning recognition in the best supporting actress category (Arundhuti Nag) and best make-up (Christein Tinsley and Dominie Till).

Amit Trivedi got the best music director award for Anurag Kashyap's Dev-D, a modern take on Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay's classic Devdas. The emotional number Behti hawa sa tha woh from 3 Idiots bagged the best lyrics award for Swanand Kirkere.

The best children's film award was shared by Putaani Party in Kannada and Keshu in Malayalam. Jeeva and Anba Karaus shared the best child actor award. Telegu film Magadheera bagged awards for special effects and choreography.

The best audiography award was shared by Oscar winner Resool Pookutty and Amrit Pritam for Kerala Varma Pazhassi Raja, Subash Sahoo (location sound) for Kaminey and Anup Dev (re-recordist of the final missed track) for 3 Idiots.

The awards were announced by chairpersons of each of the three juries for feature films, non-feature films and film writing.

According to Ramesh Sippy, chairperson of the jury on feature films, the system adopted for selection of movies this time was a two-tier one in which a regional jury first screened the films from five regions after which a central jury went through them.

He had said that based on discussions, the jury had decided to recall five films which had not made it in the first list at the level of the regional juries. Out of these, two -- Natrang (best film in Marathi) and Houseful (best female playback) won awards.

Pics:National Award winners
Read: Pleasure and surprise: National film awardees react
Read: Abhishek celebrates dad's National Award win
Read: There is no award like a National Award: Resul Pookutty
Read: Big B deserved National award for 'Paa': Bollywood
Read: R Balki happy and honoured with national award

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Hit Counter

Shahid Kapoor Photos Wallpapers

Blog Widget by LinkWithin